If you are weighing payday vs installment loans in Plano, Texas, you are really comparing two different legal systems. A payday loan is usually arranged by a credit access business, and state law does not cap its fees. An installment loan usually comes from a lender licensed under Texas Finance Code chapter 342, and its charges are set by statute and rule. That one difference often decides which loan costs less.
Quick answer: Texas has no statewide cap on credit access business fees, so a payday loan in Plano often costs more than an installment loan of the same size. Installment loans from Chapter 342 lenders follow charge rules set by law, and they spread payments over several months. A credit union is worth checking before either one.
Two kinds of Texas lender
Payday and auto title loans in Texas are usually arranged by a credit access business, or CAB, under Finance Code chapter 393. The CAB charges a fee for arranging the loan, and a third-party lender funds it under chapter 342. State law does not cap that CAB fee, the loan amount or the number of renewals.
Installment loans, sometimes called signature loans, are made by lenders licensed under chapter 342. Their charges depend on the size of the loan and follow rules in the law. Both kinds of business are licensed by the Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC), so you can look up either one before you sign.
What a payday loan costs in Plano
A single-payment CAB loan is due in one lump sum, often in about two weeks. Terms in Texas commonly run from 7 to 180 days. A typical market price is about $110 to $125 for every $500 borrowed over two weeks, which works out to roughly 570% to 650% APR. That is a typical market figure, not a legal cap, and a lender can charge more.
Here is an illustration. You borrow $500 and the fee is $120. On payday you owe $620. If you cannot pay and the loan is renewed twice by paying only the fee, you pay three fees, or $360, and you still owe the original $500. For a deeper walk-through, see how payday loans work in Plano and what it costs to borrow $500.
What an installment loan looks like
A chapter 342 installment loan is repaid in equal payments, usually monthly, over several months. The charges are set by law according to loan size, rather than left open, so the cost is generally lower than a CAB loan of the same amount. It can still be expensive for a borrower with weak credit, and it is usually pricier than a credit union loan.
Because the schedule is fixed, you can see the whole cost before you sign. Our guide to installment loans in Plano covers how these loans work in more detail.
Multi-payment CAB loans are not installment loans
Many CABs now offer loans repaid over several pay periods. They look like installment loans, but the CAB fee is charged again each period. Using the typical market figure of $110 to $125 per two-week period on $500, six periods (about three months) would add $660 to $750 in fees. That is an illustration, not a quote.
When you compare a multi-payment CAB loan with an installment loan, ignore the size of each payment. Look at the total of payments on the disclosure, because that number shows what you really pay.
When a payday loan might make sense
A payday loan is a possible bridge only in narrow cases. The amount is small, you need it for days rather than weeks, and you are certain you can repay it in full on the first due date. In that case a single fee can cost less than several overdraft or late charges. The moment you expect to renew, the comparison flips.
When an installment loan fits better
- You need more than a few hundred dollars.
- You need more than one paycheck to repay.
- You want on-time payments reported to the credit bureaus.
- You want a fixed total cost that you can see upfront.
Even then, compare at least two licensed lenders, and compare both with a credit union, before you sign.
Credit reporting
Many installment lenders and credit unions report payments to the credit bureaus, so on-time payments can help your score. Ask before you sign, because not every lender reports. CAB payday loans often are not reported unless the debt goes to collection, so they rarely help your credit and can hurt it. See APR vs interest rate for how to read the cost.
Read both disclosures side by side
Federal Truth in Lending rules require the APR, finance charge, amount financed and total of payments on both kinds of loan. A CAB must also give you a separate consumer disclosure before the application, comparing the cost with other credit and showing repayment patterns. It must post its fee schedule as well.
Texas has no way to undo a loan once signed, so read the paperwork fully before you agree. Put the two total-of-payments figures side by side. The lower total for the amount you actually need is usually the better choice.
Check a credit union first
A federal credit union may offer a Payday Alternative Loan, or PAL. The cap is 28% interest plus an application fee of no more than $20. Credit unions set their own eligibility rules, so compare local ones. Our page on Plano credit unions vs payday lenders explains where a small loan costs less.
Here are two illustrations for $500 repaid over six months. At an illustrative 18% interest rate, the payment is about $87.77 and the total interest is about $26.62. At the PAL maximum of 28% interest, the payment is about $90.27 and interest is about $41.62. A $20 application fee brings the most you would pay in charges to about $61.62. Compare that with about $360 in fees for a $500 payday loan renewed twice.
Title loans and service members
Auto title loans in Texas are usually CAB loans too, secured by your car, so the uncapped fee applies. If you miss payments, the lender may repossess the vehicle, and you can still owe a deficiency. Active-duty service members and covered dependents have extra protection: the Military Lending Act caps most consumer credit, including payday and title loans, at a 36% military annual percentage rate that includes most fees.
If you fall behind
On a CAB loan, missing the due date usually brings a renewal fee or a returned-payment charge, and the loan carries on. On an installment loan, a missed payment brings the late charge in your contract and often a mark on your credit report. Call the lender before you miss a payment.
A CAB may not threaten or pursue criminal charges over a check or debit authorization you gave as security unless there is forgery, fraud or theft. If you think a lender broke a rule, contact the lender first, then file a complaint with the OCCC.
Which rules apply in Plano?
Some Texas cities have their own local rules for credit access businesses. We have not confirmed one for Plano, so do not assume any city limit applies. Ask the City of Plano and the lender which rules govern your loan.
A simple decision rule
- A small amount, repaid in full on the next payday: a CAB loan is a possible but costly bridge.
- A larger amount, or one that needs two or more paychecks: try a credit union first, then a licensed chapter 342 lender.
- A gap that keeps coming back: neither loan fixes it, so look at the bill and your budget.
Frequently asked questions
Usually, for the same amount and time. State law does not cap CAB fees, while chapter 342 installment loans follow charge rules set by law. Always compare the total of payments on both disclosures.
It is a consumer loan from a lender licensed under Texas Finance Code chapter 342. Many are repaid in equal monthly payments, and they are often called signature loans.
The Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC) licenses CABs and chapter 342 lenders. Its helpline is 800-538-1579, Monday through Friday, 8 to 5.
They can, if the lender reports on-time payments to the credit bureaus. Ask before you sign. CAB payday loans often are not reported unless they go to collection.
Only for a small amount that you are certain to repay on the first due date without renewing.
No. They spread repayment over several periods, but the CAB fee is charged each period. The total can be far higher than a chapter 342 loan of the same size.
Often. A federal credit union PAL caps interest at 28% plus an application fee of no more than $20. Compare local credit unions and check their eligibility rules.
Texas has no way to undo a loan once signed. Read the disclosure fully before you agree, and ask questions first.
This article is educational and is not financial or legal advice. Before you borrow, confirm the lender is licensed with the Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC), and read the fee disclosure in full.
